I finished something!

While digging through my pattern stash, I found one lonely blouse pattern.  Normally, I avoid high necklines because they are unflattering to a full bust, but this one isn’t a typical high neckline.  I really like the wide collar, although it’s not as wide as the pattern illustration.    This is the first 1950’s pattern I’ve sewn in at least a year and I had forgotten how much I love them.  It was a straight grade up, no FBA, no extra bum room, no petite adjustments.  The only alteration I did was to lower the bust dart about an inch.  Easy Peasy!  I can see making more of these but I would add 1-2in in length if I’m going to continue wearing them with jeans, rather than skirts.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I finished something!

  1. Sarah @ ColorKitten says:

    That is so cute! And you’re so right, high necks above big busts are just not flattering — it took me *way* too long to figure that out.

    You picked the best view, but I like view 2, also!

  2. Susan says:

    Love it!

  3. lap says:

    Isn’t it funny how a boat neckline can be high and flattering? I don’t know why, but it definitely works, and I love the collar with it here. Super cute!

  4. Jane says:

    This blouse is lovely, it looks very stylish on you and really suits you!

  5. Pia says:

    So cute! Looks great on you. Happy to see you posting your lovely outfits again, missed these. 🙂

  6. Sølvi says:

    Oh- that is such a cute blouse! I have that exact same pattern and am planning to make a version of it too. It looks great on you!

  7. Marybeth says:

    Very cute! And I just love your hair too!

  8. Patty says:

    super cute – i’ve found that i often have to draft up collars – even if they are graded up as part of the pattern, I find that they aren’t usually graded up enough in my size – one of my first sewing projects was Vogue 8623 and I had to add INCHES to the collar to get it to look even close to the drawing on the envelope!

  9. Rita says:

    I love this blouse on you!! It is so cute.

  10. Jen says:

    Wow, this is so cute! The trim is darling. You are right about how necklines and fuller busts, but this really looks wonderful on you.

  11. Psycho Sue says:

    we need a fabric close -up!

Leave a Reply

