Belated New Year’s update

Those of you who have been following my blog from the beginning know that it’s pretty common for me to hit a sewing slump in dead of winter.  I tried to get excited about all the challenges that other sewing bloggers have for posted for the coming year.  There is http://www.sewweekly.com/, http://thegreatvintagesewalong.blogspot.com/ and http://www.flickr.com/groups/jacket-a-month_2011/. While they all sound like great projects that are a good match for me, I can’t seem to get started.  The only sewing I’ve done since before Christmas was the patches on my younger son’s jeans.  I’ve picked up several new-to-me vintage patterns recently, but none have inspired me to get to work.  Is it because I did so much sewing during DIY December?  Maybe.  I know one reason is because I love to wear wild colored or patterned opaque tights in the winter and they don’t see to go well with vintage dresses.  Another reason is because where I live, winter is usually gray and cold, but not snowy.  It makes me miss my brightly colored cotton dresses.  I went to Hancock Fabrics yesterday and the linens and seersucker were already on display.  I can’t wear seersucker for at least 5 months.  For now, my plans are to organize and decorate my sewing, in hopes of jump starting out of this slump.  In the mean time, I’ll post pictures of some of the patterns I’ve gotten recently.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Belated New Year’s update

  1. gMarie says:

    Oh – I love that first pattern. I’m ready to sew, but I’m sick. So I’m knitting instead. Maybe I’ll have a nice warm snuggly alpaca cardigan to curl up in before the weekend is over. Of course, then I just get a hot flash. g

  2. Psycho Sue says:

    I disagree! Bright tights with vintage dresses are ADORABLE!!! It creates a new funky edge!

Leave a Reply

