DIY December Day 19

I’m starting to feel much better and I’m getting back in the swing of things.  Today’s outfit consists of 2 new garments, a Simplicity 3881 skirt and another NewLook 6735 top.  I’ve had this plaid in my stash since August, trying to figure out how to use it.  I really hate matching plaids and this skirt is a great way to get a cute, flippy skirt without much matching.  My preferred skirt shape is an A-line gored skirt, but every time I laid out the pattern pieces, I gave up.  Because of some lumpy bits, this skirt only works on me with a longer top, so I’m not sure I’ll make more.  However, any of you ladies who can wear this style, I highly recommend Simplicity 3881.  It was a straight forward, easy fit, easy sew and took longer to cut than to sew.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in DIY December, separates. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY December Day 19

  1. laura lake says:

    Darling! I’ve never even considered using plaid, because of the matching. This looks lovely. I wonder If the top of the skirt could be made from a pattern that fits you more to your liking, only very shortened, and then the flounce from this pattern used?

  2. Sølvi says:

    This is such a lovely outfit! Love it. And happy holidays! .-)

Leave a Reply

