DIY December Day 16

Nope, no DIY pics from days 14 and 15.  I’ve been too sick for either laundry or sewing, so jeans and tees were worn.  Today’s outfit features a “wearable muslin” from Butterick 5429.  This is my first time making it and I’m gonna say it’s not quite a wadder but it is a fail.  I’ve made other twist tops before and this one just doesn’t lay right.  The twist just looks like a jumble of fabric, rather than an actual twist.  It’s also a lot looser and shorter than pattern illustration, even after I added an inch in length to the hem.  I’m always looking for interesting knit tops, since I can purchase a plain knit top anywhere, but this one is not going into rotation.

On a side note, I think I need to start pre-washing all my trouser fabrics twice or put in more of a break on the initial hemming.  All my handmade trousers seem to be shrinking lengthwise in the wash, but at least not in width, too.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in DIY December. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY December Day 16

  1. sdBev says:

    ” I think I need to start pre-washing all my trouser fabrics twice or put in more of a break on the initial hemming”

    I’ve been thinking abou this too. If I let hems out, there is always a faded line to contend with. If I make my pants longer, anticipating that they will shrink, they either don’t shrink or wrinkle strangely for the first 6 months. I’m really leaning towards washing trouser/jean fabric more than once. I’ve heard 4 times recommended for denim. Wonder if it really works?

  2. lsaspacey says:

    Sorry the pattern didn’t work out for you. I also found it very loose and though I like the interest at the front, I also agree that it doesn’t look like a twist, but maybe more like a knot? I made mine in a print so it’s almost invisible anyway. I’m going to try the long sleeve version in a solid knit as soon as I find some I like. My review of it was December 6 on my blog if you want to read it.

    Also, because the pattern is for wovens, and I used a knit I even cut one size smaller but it was still pretty loose.

Leave a Reply

