DIY December Day 9

Day 9 is a FO.  I’ve been really sick this week, so I haven’t gotten as much done as I planned.  I had planned to muslin out a new knit top pattern but haven’t even opened it.  I am happy to have gotten today’s outfit done.  This is http://www.decadesofstyle.com ‘s 1930’s Kitchenette Pajamas.  I wasn’t sure if it would suit me but I really need loungewear in my winter wardrobe.  My initial plan was all flannel, but I could not find black flannel.  The pants are in polar fleece.  I had also planned to add a faked while undersleeve in either knit or flannel, but after trying it on, a white long-sleeved tee shirt underneath would work better.  This pattern comes in sizes 30in bust to 46in bust (finished measurement is 53in).  I cut the 42 at the shoulders and 46 at the side seams.  I did not add my usual FBA nor petite adjustments.  I think the wrap back and waist ties make this very forgiving of various fit issues and would be quite comfortable for early-mid pregnancy, too.  The only issues I have with this pattern is the extra low crotch, which is typical for vintage trousers, and the back wrap not staying closed.  Like the overalls, I know getting completely undressed to use the bathroom will annoy me, but a tee shirt underneath will help keep me warm during that, as well as keep my back warm while wearing it.  Despite the low crotch, these lounge pajamas are very comfy, the fleece is soft and the flannel is warm.  I plan on making a pair (set?) in cotton for warmer months but I’ll need to figure out the back closure first.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in DIY December. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY December Day 9

  1. Pia says:

    Very cute! I like the idea of the top, though can imagine the ‘staying closed issues’. 🙂

  2. sdBev says:

    “Like the overalls, I know getting completely undressed to use the bathroom will annoy me”
    Such a cute pattern. But yeah I hate getting completely undressed especially during winter (we keep our thermostat on the low side of 60) I gave up jumpsuits when I was in my 20’s. At the time, I had no need of a br@ either. Talk about being exposed in the bathroom.WOW. Couldn’t do that.

Leave a Reply

