DIY December?

At the end of Self Stitched September, Zoe of http://sozowhatdoyouknow.blogspot.com/ announced that she would not be able to lead other Me-Made projects in the near future.  I’ve decided that I will be doing a DIY December.  I love being able to give and get inspiration for other seamstresses/knitters, DIYers, ect.  I find winter sewing to be the most challenging and I’d love to see what other people are making and wearing during the colder seasons.  I have created a Flickr group to share our pictures.  http://www.flickr.com/groups/1538851@N20/  If you plan to join me, please post a link to your blog in the comments.

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to DIY December?

  1. Patty says:

    I’m SO IN!! SSS was awesome and kept me from being a slacker – and this cold weather is killiing me – we just got a MAJOR snow in Mpls today! I just was thinking of making Colette Parfait out of that purple plaid (I think you have it too??) for wearing over a black scoopy long sleeve T (or, ugh, turtleneck on super cold days!)

    • andreahg says:

      Yay! Have you seen the Colette Patterns flickr group? Someone there shortened a couple of the dresses into tops and they look great. I love that idea. Yes, I have the plaid but am putting off matching the pattern.

  2. lap says:

    I’m really interested in doing one of these challenges/celebrations too, but I don’t know if I could be ready for December. I could do an abbreviated DIY December where I wear something me-made twice a week, but I have an embarrassingly small amount of me-made items in my current wardrobe. That might be too pathetic, but I really want to try anyway.

  3. Bree says:

    I’m in, but mine may have to be a bit modified too. Though I think this will get me into making some more cold weather stuff. Thanks for coming up with this!

  4. maaaaaybe…… i’m thinking about it. i might use this as a month to motor through some projects i’ve had on my list for a while. either way, i linked to you about this 🙂

  5. I’d love to do this but I’m still new at sewing and I don’t have much in my wardrobe to fill out a whole month. Especially a cold, snowy month! But the internet and movements like Self-Stitched September have been such inspirations to me in this new venture, so I’d love to get involved. Is it too cheesy to participate on a weekly or bi-weekly basis?

  6. Maria says:

    I just enjoy reading your blog…and you are such an inspiration in all the sewing that you do.

    Yes, I would really like to join. At this moment, I sew pretty much my own clothes with a bit of thrift shops find in-between.

    So yes, you could definitely count me in with the rest of the ladies 🙂

    M.

  7. phem says:

    I love the idea of a DIY december and would definitely give it a try. I am just a little bit unsure whether my wardrobe features enough self made items but we’ll see. If it’s okay, I would love to join the bunch.

  8. Anne says:

    Hi, just found your blog through the Fedora Lounge, and I’m loving it so far. I will definitely join you for DIY December, though I’ll definitely have to get cracking to have enough of a wardrobe. My blog can be found at: neverwaseverwas.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

