Vogue 1068

One of the primary reasons I like to sew with vintage patterns is that they tend to have more structural and design details, especially the early 1930’s.  I made up my mind that if I was going to use some modern patterns with this SWAP, they were not going to be plain Jane garments.  Yes, the NewLook knit top is very basic and plain Jane, but we all need a few basics in our wardrobe.  This Vogue pattern, at first glance, appears to be a plain princess seamed shell, but if you look at the line drawing, you will see that the seams are in all kinds of wonderful places and go in interesting directions.  It is also very well drafted.  The only alteration needed was a 1/2in fold above the waist for my high waist.  I did a FBA, but ended up pinching it out.  The only think I’m not happy with is how the sleeves fit.  Since the muslin fit so well before I added the sleeve, I did not bother to try a sleeve on the muslin.  BIG MISTAKE!  I might take off the sleeve, but then it would not long work as a winter top.  When I raise my arm, it distorts the lovely neckline.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vogue 1068

  1. Suzanne says:

    great pattern,and totally workable and figure flattering!

Leave a Reply

