First SWAP outfit

The top is NewLook 6735, the skirt is Vogue 2989, both current releases.  The NL is a good, basic knit top that would be a good foundation piece.  I have plans to make a white one and a black one.  I cut a 16 in the upper chest area, then the largest size at the side seams.  I also added a 1in FBA and 1/2in full bicep adjustment.  The sleeve is a little baggy at the hem, but that easy to correct.

I’m really happy with this Vogue skirt.  I normally stay away from straight skirts, as they usually draw attention to my tummy, which is a major problem area for me.  However, the side draping and tucks do a great job of camoflauging this area.  If I make it again, I would add an inch or so in length.  I prefer my skirts to hit below the knee.  The only construction difficulties I ran into were a result of fabric choice, not the pattern.  This is a stretch poly that will not fingerpress and melts when the iron is on the lowest setting.  I had to topstitch every seam and the hem is not as tidy as I’d like.  All that aside, I love the skirt.  It looks ok with black tights and boots but I think some purple tights and shoes would be better.  Any excuse to buy new shoes, right?

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First SWAP outfit

  1. Suzanne says:

    and the boots look hot too!

  2. Susan says:

    Love it! You put some teal in your wardrobe in a major way.

  3. Patty says:

    wow! That’s a great look! I hear you on the straight skirt/tummy thing!

    That shirt is great, too. I’m abnormally focused on the raglan sleeves (did you see my note back to you on my original shirt obsession post?? new look 6950!! boo on collar troubles!) but this is really a nice neckline, which is more important to me than how I want the sleeves set in!

    The colors are gorgeous!

    Also – just thought I’d mention. I have that puple and black plaid set aside for a full circle skirt and I’m going to line it with teal lining left over from my greenish teal sheathy dress! Yay for purple and teal!

    PS. Your house is always so neat and tidy!

  4. Viv says:

    What a gorgeous pop of color! I couldn’t click on the link fast enough to see the outfit in more detail. It looks great on you, as well. Make sure and post a pic if you do the purple tights and shoes, eh?

  5. Heather says:

    Very pretty! The top looks great on you! I’ll have to check that pattern out. I don’t usually use NL since a lot of there stuff only goes to size 18. I guess it would be easy grade up though!

  6. andreahg says:

    Thanks, everyone! NL is worth the grade! Their patterns are cute and well drafted. Of all the modern, main stream patterns, they are the most consistent.
    “neat and tidy” hee hee, thanks! With 2 large dogs, and 2 growing boys, I insist that at least my living room remain clean so I don’t go insane. The rest of the house can fall down around me.

Leave a Reply

