SSS Wrap Up and a new SWAP

I made it to the end.  September was harder than May in some ways.  In May, I was really excited to take the pictures.  This time, I dreaded every one.  I also thought it was going to be easier because I had sewn a lot of garments over the summer.  However, after comparing outfit pictures, I realized that the early 30’s planned wardrobe that I made just don’t suit my figure.  I also noticed that there were several dresses that I LOVE but for some reason, just didn’t wear.  I think that I get tired of “statement” dresses much quicker.  I really am a separates kind of gal.

As for what’s ahead on my to-sew list: another SWAP.  I really like the SWAP concept and it makes dressing much easier when items are designed with fit into my wardrobe rather than just making whatever strikes my fancy.  In past years, I’ve felt a bit disappointed in myself for not sticking to vintage all year round.  However, I’ve accepted that a)I really only like pretty, light, cotton dresses, b)I run too cold and my house is too drafty to just throw a cardi over my cotton dress and call it a day, c) my allergy to wool eliminates most vintage options and d) one of the joys of liking vintage but living in the 21st century is that I can pick and choose what suits my figure and taste best because I have 80-100 years of fashion history to choose from.  My autumn SWAP will be a mixture of modern and vintage, in my favorite colors.

My bottoms:

The black uncut cord will either be the straight leg trouser from this Vogue pattern, or wide leg trousers made from my EvaDress overall pattern.  I’m also considering adding a grey cord trouser using whichever pattern doesn’t get used for the black trouser.  The gray suiting is already finished, using my high-waisted New York 1940’s skirt pattern.  I haven’t settled on which pattern to use for the gray and purple plaid fabric.  http://www.decadesofstyle.com has a new 30’s skirt that looks interesting.

My tops:

The lavender will be used for the sleeveless top in the Vogue pattern, but I will be adding a 3/4 sleeve.  I haven’t settled on a pattern for the teal print, but the pussycat blouse from Hot Patterns would work.  That fabric is the only problematic one, since I can’t wear it with the plaid or print bottoms.  It might be a back-burner project.  I’ll need at least one other solid top to feel like it’s a workable SWAP.  The lovely and talented AmyJean from The Fedora Lounge suggested yellow.  I was skeptical at first, but I brought swatches of my gray suiting and the plaid with me to the fabric store to investigate.  She was right, they both looked good with yellow.  The only problem is finding a yellow that can be worn with black trousers and not look like a bumble bee.  I think it would have to be a very pale yellow or a mustard, but I’m not sure I can wear mustard.  Do you have any suggestions for solid colored tops that would go with those bottoms?

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SSS Wrap Up and a new SWAP

  1. Rita says:

    I think you did such a great job on the SSS.

    I also like the patterns you choose for your SWAP and I am interested in the decades of style skirt ( I need more skirts) so I look forward to your review.

  2. Patty says:

    Hey there! I love all the styles and colors! I’m breezing through blogs (hubby’s b-day today. Started sewing his gifl this a.m. – but I think you could rock the mustard – we have similiar coloring and I’m LOVING the new yellow bo-ho shirt I made! And can’t wait to wear it with my new grey cords!)

    coming back to re-read in more detail later!

Leave a Reply

