Sewing That Won’t Get Seen

Do you have trouble making yourself sew the things you need but don’t really want to?  For me, that means anything that won’t been seen out of my house.  However, I realized last night, that my winter nightwear has become a dire situation.  Because I hate to sew garments that won’t be seen by the outside world, I usually only have 1-2 nightgowns/pajamas per season.  At the end of last winter, I had to toss out both my flannel nightgown and pajamas due to fraying and falling to pieces.  I know exactly how old that nightgown was because I wanted to sew something pretty after wearing nursing nightgowns for so long.  Buy some, you may say.  Well, I bought some summer pajamas last year and they aren’t made well and have started fraying after only a year.  Our throw-away society has made it harder and harder to buy high quality items even if you’re willing to spend more for them.

This is my pattern and I’ll be using a light blue flannel-backed satin.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sewing That Won’t Get Seen

  1. Rose in SV says:

    I like the top, with the neckline treatment and the belt treatments. I have problems putting that much sewing detail into nightwear, though.

    Have you seen this post from JemimaBean regarding vintage pants patterns for plus sizes? I thought that this was a great tip for finding vintage pants styles in larger sizes.

    http://jemimabean.blogspot.com/2010/07/vintage-trousers.html

Leave a Reply

