Getting More From Your Patterns

This is the first of a two part article on getting more from your patterns.  While we all love pretty dresses, separates allow our wardrobes to be expandable and versatile.  In an effort to control spending, I like to make my separate pieces based on my favorite dress patterns.  The skirt below is from Simplicity 3358.  The only design change was to eliminate the center front buttons, cut it on the fold and add a side zip.  The key to making a skirt from a dress pattern is to try on the skirt before you attach the waistband.  I have found that I usually need to make the skirt much tighter at the waist then the original dress was.  Of course, the smartest thing to do would be to make a muslin first, but I usually skip it for this kind of thing.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

