Butterick 4046

I must admit, I’m not all that happy with today’s project and I can’t figure out what it is.  I know I wouldn’t have chosen black and white gingham if I wasn’t making it to go with the planned wardrobe for the patternreview.com contest.  I also don’t think I would have lengthened the jacket so it was a good length to wear with the blouses.  I just don’t think this outfit looks very 1930’s to me.  Is it the lack of big, puffy sleeves we see in patterns a few years later than this one?  Is it the lack of set hair? (with this humidity, my set doesn’t even make it to dinner time).  Is this outfit worth another try?

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Butterick 4046

  1. Cynthia Allen says:

    Hi! I think the dress is fine, but the jacket should definitely be the original, shorter length, like a bolero…..also, it might benefit from 3/4 length sleeves (if that suits the era).

    Love checking out your blog each day!
    Cynthia

  2. Inky says:

    I’m with Cynthia – i think lengthening the jacket made it less 30’s and more like you put a modern jacket with it. The dress itself looks good and comfortable.

  3. nuranar says:

    Yep, I think it’s definitely the jacket. The design of the dress itself is great, although I would definitely add a belt and a tie, brooch, or necklace. Black is a dressier option; orange would be very 30s. Very cute, honestly!

  4. lap says:

    I think the dress is very cute and flattering. I would definitely like the jacket more if it were shorter, and I like that shrunken look with tops too. I think you would like the gingham more if you put some color near your face, like a brooch or necklace of red beads or something, maybe it’s as simple as lipstick! But even as is, it’s really cute.

  5. Lauren says:

    I really like the dress! It does look a little later. You can totally see how the 50s was influenced by some 30s styles! Ditto what others have said about the jacket.

  6. jennifer says:

    Love the dress. Is this part of the capsule wardrobe you were doing? If so a burgandy tie at the neck would look good. I agree with shortening the jacket too. I think the longer length alters the balance of the outfit. the waist being visible in the orginal gives a nice shape also seeing the full length of the skirt gives a long legged look. The bolero is fun and youthfull too. Perhaps you could pin it up to see how it would look and feel?

Leave a Reply

