Simplicity 3356

I got Simplicity 3356 in a pattern copy exchange.  I love internet friends!  When I was making this, I was unsure if it would be too juvenile for a middle aged mom of 2, but once I put the outfit on, I fell in love.  My copy is a size 32, so my first step was to grade up to a 46.  That was a hefty task, but it’s so much easier with princess seams.  The next step was a 1in FBA.  It fit great on the first muslin!  It was a quick sew, being completed in one day, except for the buttons, which required a trip to the fabric store.  I made only two style changes and they were to take the point out of the pocket (pure laziness) and to sew up the back and make the buttons nonfunctional.  I had some trouble getting the top band to fit because I neglected to alter the band for the FBA.  The pattern envelope shows a shorter version worn without a blouse underneath and I have tried mine on that way.  The back is high enough and the straps wide enough to cover my bra.  I’m not sure I’d ever wear it that way, though.  I definitely can picture this in a black wool for winter.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Simplicity 3356

  1. K-Line says:

    OMG – FANTASTIC!

  2. Inky says:

    seriously, i feel like i’m stalking you in this outfit. it’s sooooo not juvenile at all. well done Andrea!!

  3. Cathi says:

    Great dress! And I love the shirt under it too!
    any chance you could do a quick spot on up-sizing a pattern that much? That’s about my size too and I`m just terrified at the thought of that kind of adjustment!

  4. Patricia says:

    Outstanding. Looks great!!!

  5. Devongirl says:

    Love this!
    But you’ve left me wondering – who would design a dress that buttoned up the back?? Someone with husband/maid/nurse to help them into it!? 😀

Leave a Reply

