Thoughts on vintage style

Yesterday, we hosted a fantastic party for the July 4th holiday.  It lasted all day, plenty of food and booze were consumed and a good time was had by all.  However, by the middle of the day, I sat at my kitchen table and looked around all the lovely ladies in my house.  They were all wearing shorts and easy, breezy babydoll tops.  I didn’t feel overdressed in my basic skirt and eyelet blouse, just too fussy or twee as one of the readers put it. (I love that word and hadn’t heard it before)  For those who don’t know, I live near Washingon DC, where we are currently experiencing a heat wave.  This means my fingerwave and curls started to fall within minutes of my taking out my wave clips, my make-up began it’s crawl down my face shortly after that.  Sometimes I wonder if it’s really worth the effort.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thoughts on vintage style

  1. Inky says:

    it is, it is. i feel so much better about myself even if i make a little bit of effort. when it was so hot and humid on our MI vacation I didn’t bother curling and wore my hair up in a bandana with a front roll or pomp or faux bangs the entire week. I also used my mineral foundation instead of liquid, and minimal eye makeup. Make up and eye primers and my new favorite product, Urban Decay’s “Dew Me,” kept my make up on despite the heat.

    stay glamorous!

  2. Cynthia Allen says:

    Hey, girl! Don’t quit now……you inspire me to get out my sewing machine and whip up something deliciously 1940’s. I think I may even start showing off my vintage style.
    Love to check your blog each morning for new inspiration. Thanks!!
    Cynthia

  3. barbe says:

    I know what you mean, I look at people on the street and they are all no makeup, flowy no style hair,etc.. and here I am curly head, full makeup, jewelry, vintage clothign etc……Somehow though, I’d never be able to walk ouf of the house in the outfits they weare and I bet they feel the same about me….

  4. Devongirl says:

    I bet you looked great! Something I’ve just discovered, that even if I feel all sweaty and yuck, you can’t tell that in the photos! I don’t go in for much makeup in the humid weather though, but I do have *cheats* – dye my eyelashes, curl them and slick on some hair putty instead of mascara… benetint lip stain, and bare escentuals foundation which doesn’t smudge or seem to sweat off easily.
    And I can’t stand those babydoll tops and their ‘is she or isn’t she pregnant’ look about them. You would have looked the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

