Simplicity 1528

This pattern was a huge pain in my everywhere.  The collar didn’t want to lay flat, which I should have expected since it’s a mock wrap and I have that problem with wraps.  The pleating took several days.  I would not have even attempted the pleats without my handy dandy Perfect Pleater and even with it, I was pretty close to giving up at several points.  I complained about it in depth on my PR review.  Go to http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=52731 if you’re interested in reading about my trials and tribulations with this pattern.  All that aside, I’m coming to really like this belted blouse look on me.  It’s the first 1930’s look that I think really works for me and I’m happy to be making a whole wardrobe with this sort of look.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Simplicity 1528

  1. nuranar says:

    I’m sorry the fitting gave you fits, but you’re so right – it looks awesome on you! This look is definitely a winner.

  2. Sølvi says:

    That looks fabulous on you! Good thing you finished it in spite of all the problems! 🙂

  3. Rita says:

    This is awesome! It looks great on you; congrats on a job well done.

    Question for you: Is this 2 pieceis, blouse and skirt or a dress? If a dress, is the bodice completely attached to the skirt?

    I am working on a similar looking pattern and am having problems which is the basis of my questions.

    Thanks!!.

  4. andreahg says:

    The original pattern is a one piece dress with no waist seam. As I have made it, it’s a blouse and skirt. The skirt comes from a completely different pattern.

  5. Rita says:

    Oh…. ok, no solution to my problem. Thanks for the answer! it is much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

