Thoughts on Me Made May

Me Made May has taught me a few lessons.

As has been said by other MMM participants, I feel so much better about wearing a me-made garment.  Not only do they fit and flatter more than RTW, I get a sense of accomplishment, as well as the satisfaction of knowing I’m not following all the trends.

I need to take a more critical look at my wardrobe.  Not only did I not miss a single RTW tee that fills a drawer to overflowing, but I look better without those tees.  They don’t fit as well and they certainly aren’t stylish.  I also have some me-made garments in my closet that I didn’t wear for MMM.  I tend to keep me-made garments even if I’m not really happy with them, for whatever reason.  If I’m not going to wear them, they need to make room for new garments.

I really need a wardrobe plan.  I tend to buy fabric that calls to me, whether I have other pieces that will go with it or shoes to match,ect.  I’ve ended up with a closet full of clothes but nothing to wear.  Patternreview.com is running their Wardrobe Contest again.  I know I tried to do it last year, but I had terrible motives.  Last year, I was under the false impression that I needed a more “grown-up” wardrobe.  I chose a color scheme that was completely out of my comfort zone, chocolate brown, true blue and cream.  I never wear those colors!!!!.  I bought a couple blouse prints in black, teal, pink and red.  Not only are they colors that I already wear, but cute novelty prints similar to other things in my wardrobe.  This won’t win the contest, but the main theme this year is “trends”.  Since I’ll be using all vintage patterns, I probably won’t be able to assign it a trend that I’m following.  However, teal and turqoise blues seem to be popular this summer.

All in all, MMM was a good experience.  I want to thank Zoe from http://sozowhatdoyouknow.blogspot.com for the challenge and organizing it.  She has issued another challenge, which I’m going to take: Self Stitched September.  This should be somewhat easier to do because I will be able to wear my summer clothes for most of the month and it will motivate me to work on cool weather clothing.

Thanks to all my new readers who found me through MMM.  It was nice meeting you and I hope you stick around!

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Me-Made-May 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thoughts on Me Made May

  1. Zoe says:

    You are more than welcome! Me-Made-May was so much fun and I’m so pleased you’ll be up for it again in September. Good luck with your Pattern Review challenge, looking forward to seeing the fruits of your new plans, especially those prints in action. xxx

  2. angie.a says:

    Andrea it was AWESOME following your MMM! You inspired me to join the next round! 🙂

  3. K-Line says:

    I am so impressed by how many outfits you put together. I know what you mean about needing a wardrobe plan. Buying fabric on a whim is as bad as buying Ts that don’t look great! (Well, eventually anyway.)

  4. CarmencitaB says:

    Me-Made-May was a great challenge indeed and I loved seeing what you made. Awesome work!

  5. Devongirl says:

    I’m beginning to have withdrawal symptoms…! 😀

Leave a Reply

