MMM Day 21 and review

Simplicity 1788 was given to me by a Fedora Lounge friend, the lovely and talented AmyJeane.  I’m calling this a wearable muslin.  The need to have things to wear for MMM take precedence over perfection! The fabric is from my stash and is a menswear shirting.  What posessed me to buy 4yrds of menswear shirting?!?!  It’s a bit too crisp and I think there’s some polyester in it, it also feels thin but not in a good way.  The pattern is pretty easy to sew up, but I made it difficult.  The bodice front is construced oddly.  The button band is only faked, not functional.  Since I don’t like closed up collars, I decided to start the band where the pattern calls for opening (as called for, the band is not attached at the neck and snaps closed).  I think it looks ok, but in the future, I’ll just open the bodice down the center front and make the buttons functional.  The other difficulty I had was with the cuffs.  I really like the big, crazy cuffs on the left, but I think they need to be made of organza or starched really well.  My cuffs flopped around and looked stupid.  I took them off, made a deep hem and turned up a cuff.  On future dresses, I’ll use the puffed sleeve on the right.  Other than that, it’s a little too big across the bust and the waist needs to come up about an inch.  I also forgot to do a sloping shoulder adjustment.  Oh, well, at least I have a new dress.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses, Me-Made-May 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MMM Day 21 and review

  1. Cinquefoille says:

    Oh, I just love that pattern! And I completely agree with you about the closed collar, I always prefer mine open as well.

Leave a Reply

