MMM Day 11 and a review

Since I’m feeling lazy, here’s my PR review for the “Summer in Newport” Blouse from http://www.etsy.com/shop/WearingHistory:

Pattern Description: reproduction of an original mid 30s blouse or over-blouse with a draped neckline, buttons up the back, and puffed or flutter sleeves

Pattern Sizing:34in bust

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?yes, although I think the drawing implies there is more drape to the neck than there really is.

Were the instructions easy to follow?This is a reproduction of a vintage pattern, so the directions assume you have basic sewing skills.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the draped neckline and the empire waist.
Fabric Used:rayon challis that has been in my stash for several years.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:Since this is a single size pattern, I started with a simple grade up to a 46in bust. I then did a pin and pivot 1in FBA. I also found that the waist tie allows the top to be loose enough to pull over the head, so I eliminated the back buttons.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes, I plan on sewing this again and highly recommend it.

Conclusion: http://www.etsy.com/shop/WearingHistory is a small, independent company that reproduces OOP vintage patterns. This one came on thick, high quality paper and was a dream to use. The customer service is outstanding. It’s always nice to find and support smaller companies. This is a classic, elegant design that looks just as nice with a vintage trumpet skirt as with jeans. My only complaint is the sparse draping on the “cowl” neck. I plan on adding more fullness there for a greater drape.

Wearing History is run by Lauren, who also writes a great blog, http://wearinghistory.blogspot.com/

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Me-Made-May 2010, separates. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MMM Day 11 and a review

  1. zaika says:

    i LOVE this blouse. it’s really very flattering on you!!

  2. K-Line says:

    Wow – it looks terrific on you. Absolutely TNT!

Leave a Reply

