Cherries Jubilee

This blouse is pretty darn close to the best thing I’ve sewn in the last 6-12 months.   I found a blouse on etsy that I fell in love with.  As a retired seamstress, I understand why a seamstress would charge $145 for a handmade blouse and it is a very fair price, but it’s still out of my price range.  I hunted on all the usually websites to find a blouse pattern similar to the one I saw on etsy.  The etsy seller claims to use a vintage pattern for it, so I thought I wouldn’t have difficulty finding one.  Either I was wrong, or I didn’t wait long enough for one to pop up on eBay.  I did, however, find a dress that had darts in all the right place and a similar neck treatment (front on the fold with a keyhole opening).  The collar isn’t exactly right and I didn’t draft cuffs, but otherwise a great match.  I turned the bodice into a blouse.  This is the first time I’ve done so and wish I had made a muslin.  I made a muslin of the original dress bodice, but I have no records of the changes I made to turn it into a blouse.  I believe I added 6in in length and made the hip wide enough to fit my hips, then turned the darts upside down so they came to a point on both ends.  I would like to make a few more of these blouses.  I think they’ll go nicely with the 1940’s overalls that I’m fitting now.  The pattern is Marian Martin 9192 and my guess, based on the hair would be 1938-1941-ish.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cherries Jubilee

  1. K-Line says:

    I love that SO much. The gathered shoulders and key hole are so demure – but sexy.

  2. Shannon says:

    This is adorable! What a sweet blouse- I love the tiny cherries!

  3. one good apple says:

    this is just adorable – I want! 😉

  4. sdBev says:

    You are doing very well with your pattern alterations. I will say though that as you do more, it will be easier. Eventually you’ll be able to look at the pattern piece and say “eh lets make that an inch shorter” This ability does come or in your case return (since you are a retired seamstress I assume you had pretty good skills at one time.)

Leave a Reply

