NSB Update

Yes, I have finished that Advance dress, but it needs a million matching buttons and I haven’t had luck finding enough of any single button at the local shops.  They all seem to carry only 2 cards of each design.  I may have to order them just so I can have a matched set.

I wanted to do a NSB month-in-review and share my plans for March.  I didn’t do as well as I had hoped in February.  I could probably blame it on the snow, but really it’s a behavior that I need to work on.  The behavior that I was most successful at changing was my big box o’trash.  I usually read a lot, but rarely frequent the public library.  For a while, I was ordering a big box of vampire/zombie/werewolf novels every month.  Yes, I called this lovely packages my “big box o’ trash”.  I was spending anywhere from $20-$50 a month for paperback novels.  In February, I decided to not buy any novels and explore the library.  Some of my favorite authors have new novels out and I was able to put my name on the library’s list to get them.  So far, I’m still waiting.  However, I made an effort to look outside my small box in interest and get books I might not otherwise be interested in.  There were so losers, but I also discovered a new-to-me author in a genre I never read that I now love.  Her name is Megan Abbott and she writes crime/noir and all of her main characters are female.  The first one I read was set in the 1930’s and the other 2 I read were set in the 1950’s.  My name is on the library list for her 4th book, but now  need to go library exploring again.  The other behavior I was successful at was opening a savings account and making deposits.  I set it up for automatic deposits, so now I don’t even have to think about it.  As for where I didn’t succeed at my NSB goals, it’s eBay.  I know many people have problems with eBay, so at least I’m not alone.  I was fine until the snow hit.  Being stuck in the house, at the end of my library stash, at a point in my knitting project where I needed help and at the end of sewing notions. I had nothing to do but trawl the internet.  Yes, I could have spent all that time cleaning house, but really, who wants to do that.  So, yes, I used up all my free passes.

Plans for March: The behavior I will work on this month is eBay shopping.  I think the key to avoiding eBay is to eliminate all the saved search emails.  Last night, I deleted all my saved searches.  This was hard to do, but it needed to be done.  Since I’m already pretty good with both my savings deposits and the library, I will keep doing those.  If you are participating in the NSB, please tell me how you are doing!

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NSB Update

  1. Inky says:

    Excellent step in deleting the saved searches – no more beckoning temptations in your mailbox!! It’s very hard to stop Ebaying, it was a real problem for me. I do go there when I want to buy something to see if I can find it at a good price – for example in January I did buy my Kent clothing brush there but we were in the market for it and it was a buy it now so for me just like purchasing at any site, just a better value on Ebay in this case.

    Good luck and congrats on taking major steps in curbing unnecessary spending!!

  2. sarah says:

    I’m not officially doing the NSB but we are pretty much doing it anyway since last year! The library has been awesome, we get dvds and books (although — the dvds can be a problem as they’re often totally scratched up!) there and buy almost nothing. Also I swap to get books I really want (bookins, paperbackswap, bookmooch etc).

    Ebay is harder but I am currently in need of some things — my rule is, to spend $$ on ebay I have to sell on ebay first. So far that’s working.

    Now I’m off to request some Megan Abbott books from our library – they sound great!

  3. Heather says:

    I’m doing pretty good with mine! I haven’t bought anything except some patterns and fabric from the thrift store. The patterns are only 5 cents apiece so I did pretty good. Their fabric is really cheap too. Sometimes only 50 cents a yard. I think it depends on who is marking it to be honest.

  4. bunny says:

    I’m doing pretty good too, and I think I will continue it in march.
    I also udes all the 3 free passes, but one was for my boyfriend’s birthday present, so I don’t feel guilty!
    One thing I improved is my spending habit at the supermarket. Now I go with a list of strictly necessary goods, and stick to it, without buying junk food or similar.
    I’m also on diet now, so this is really a good thing both for my NSB and my health!
    Stop ebaying is harder, but still not impossible…I’ll keep trying 🙂 !!!

    B.

Leave a Reply

