Free Pass

I used a free pass for my No Spender Bender today.  After hurting my back last winter and spraining my ankle a few months ago, I’m begining to think high heels might be a thing of the past.  I can wear them for short periods of time, so I’ll keep them for special occasions.  The problem is that 50’s dresses just don’t look as good in flat shoes.  On me, ballet flats and 50’s dresses look frumpy.  I’ve tried to wear them with saddle shoes and it feels too costumey for me to feel comfortable and loafers just look dorky, to me.  On the other hand, 30’s and 40’s sportswear looks great with a flatter shoe.  While skirts and tops are great, I still prefer a dress.  Dresses are just so easy to throw on and be done with it.  I think I found a good day dress.  The view on the right has an open neckline, moderate puffed sleeve, and A-line skirt.  I think all of these elements will work for my figure.  I will probably remove some of the sleeve puffiness.  While I love the long and lean earlier 30’s dress, I think I’m too short for them.  I know the picture isn’t very good.  I’ll take a better picture when it arrives.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Free Pass

  1. PepperReed says:

    That’s the problem I have with dresses: the Shoes you need to wear with them. No, Danskos don’t really work well, do they? :^) I have no ankles for heel wearing, although I can pull off a kitten heel now and then. My tall 40’s platforms with the chunky heel? Sadly, no.

  2. bunny says:

    You’re so right! 40s dress goes well even with flat shoes, while the 50s ones require high heels and that’s a problem also to me!!

    I’m looking forward to see this dress realized!!!

    Ciao,
    B.

  3. Janel says:

    I definitely agree with you about flats and dresses. That’s why I gave up on 50s poof.

    I haven’t been able to wear heels since I broke my tail bone 2 years ago. Flats just stink. And they aren’t cute either – especially reasonably priced ones. But I really haven’t had any options. (I wear black or brown Maryjanes for everyday, but they are both in sad need of replacing.)

    I really want to start my own cute shoe company. {sigh} In my next life I guess…

    • andreahg says:

      My biggest issue with flats is that they usually have no arch support. With naturally high arches and 15yrs of ballet classes, I really need arch support. The inserts tend to ruin the look and fit of ballet flats.

  4. reilly says:

    Would wedges fall into not buying heels? It’d be a shame to give up the 50s wardrobe you love over shoes!

    • andreahg says:

      reilly, is that you, CiCi? I have a couple pairs of Re-mix wedge sandals that look great with summer dresses. I just haven’t found any winter wedges that look good and aren’t too high.

Leave a Reply

