Simplicity 1716

I normally prefer to have pictures of my garments on a real live person, but this one is so awful I just couldn’t bring myself to do it.  Yes, I made a muslin but the heavy twill just doesn’t behave the same as my light weight muslin.  It drags the whole dress down.  On the muslin, the empire waist seam is exactly under the bust and the  cap sleeve is just a tiny bit too tight.  In the heavy twill, the empire seam hangs about an inch below the bust and dips in the center.  The sleeve is even worse.  It drags so much that I can barely move my arms.  The worst is the torso area.  On the muslin, it just barely skimmed my waist and hips, nicely accenting my curves.  In the twill, it just hangs and because it droops so much vertically from the shoulder, the waist hits me at the hip.  This has happened before, always with winter fabrics.  Because I’m allergic to wool, warmer non-wool fabrics tend to be quite heavy.  I think every year since I’ve been blogging my sewing I’ve complained about this.  It’s also why I tend to stick to jeans and sweaters in the winter.  I think I need to find some seperates or suits for winter instead of my beloved dresses.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Simplicity 1716

  1. bunny says:

    What a pity!
    The pattern seems to be very nice, though.

    Ciao,
    B.

  2. Shannon says:

    It sounds like the muslin was promising. Maybe you could try it again in a lighter weight fabric for spring? The dress is awesome- I bet it would be gorgeous in a spring/summer fabric!

  3. reilly says:

    And it looks so cute on the form, too! I’m sorry it didn’t work out!

Leave a Reply

