Quick update

If you haven’t heard, the Mid-Atlantic region was slammed by a blizzard.  We lost power around 3am Friday night/Saturday morning.  Yes, I have a new dress to show you, but I won’t be taking pictures any time soon.  We were without power for 60hrs.  It’s just too darn cold in the house to model the new dress.  I also wanted to post an undate on the first week of my February No Spender-Bender.  I finished out the eBay auctions that I started prior to Feb 1 and have been pretty good about not bidding on new ones.  I did spend some money, but because I wasn’t frivilously spending money on unneeded fabrics and patterns, I was able to without guilt.  I had been scrapping the bottom of my eyeshadow palette for months now but never had the spare cash to but more.  I never go out to lunch or coffee with friends because of not having cash.  I really enjoyed my time out.  The big step is that for the first time in my adult life, I opened a savings account.  There’s not much in there, but the fact that it’s there will help me save a little bit each month.  However, this blizzard will end my No Spender Bender.  My husband calls it an emergency and it shouldn’t count.  Because the power was out for so long and it wasn’t until this morning that we found a station that had kerosene for our portable heater, I’ve been wearing all my tights, pantyhose, socks, ect under my pants.  They all now have holes and runs/ladders.  I will have to spend a bunch of cash on resupplying my stocking drawer.  We’re expecting another big snow tomorrow, but at least we will have a heat source this time.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick update

  1. Inky says:

    I don’t consider an emergency situation an end to No Spender Bender – it was a necessity to keep warm and you are replacing damaged goods, not buying things you don’t need!! And how wonderful that you are already taking advantage of not spending by enjoying spending without guilt – what a great and valuable lesson!! Keep at it Andrea, you’re doing great – and i’m with hubby, it doesn’t count!!

  2. debd says:

    Agreeing with Inky… you’re replacing things not buying stuff you can do without.

Leave a Reply

