Happy New Year!

I’m quite happy to say goodbye to 2009 and hello to 2010.  My sewing/wardrobe goals for 2010 are very simple.  I would like to put behind me the idea that other people care about what I wear and sew things that make me happy.  In 2009, I went back and forth on the idea that vintage looks costumey and that I’m too old to be out of the mainstream.  The truth is, when I wore brown hair and jeans and t-shirts, I still didn’t fit in with all the PTA moms and I didn’t care.  I am also trying to put behind me the idea of waiting until I loose some weight before sewing some great dresses.  Is there some reason why I have to wait to have a great wardrobe?  Nope!  Every time I’ve lost weight, it always comes back.  As long as I eat healthy and exercise, this is how my body likes to be and it deserves to be clad in wonderful, handmade dresses that suit my taste.  As for more concrete goals, I need to make some basics, a couple skirts, find a TNT blouse that goes with skirts and at least 3 winter dresses and a winter coat.  If you have some sewing goals, either post them in the comments or post a link to a blog post about them in the comments.  I love reading other people’s goal lists.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. Rochelle says:

    I’ve been wanting to ask you this for a while now, but how do you find patterns that are for plus size girls? I can’t seem to find any….
    I have been feeling the same way you have this year about my wardrobe..THANK YOU for saying “why do I have to wait to have a great wardrobe?” That’s just what I needed to hear (er…read LOL)…I ALWAYS second guess myself and I too have felt that I am getting too old (will be 40 next year), caught between being myself and just wanted to achieve a look that I adore…VINTAGE!
    You have excellent taste! Just wanted to know where I can find those patterns….wanting to seriously sew this coming year. Have a little girl of 8, who I would love to make cute dresses and outfits too.
    Didn’t mean to carry on like this, sorry about that….any advice you have would be appreciated!
    Happy New Year! whoo hoo 2010!
    Rochelle

    • andreahg says:

      Rochelle, my patterns are not sized for plus sized girls. I grade them up. Most of the patterns in my collections are sized to fit between 34in bust and 38in bust.

      • Rochelle says:

        Thank you so much for answering…ok that’s good to know. You must be a wiz at this kind of stuff.
        Rochelle

  2. Alyssa says:

    Good goals! I want to sew things that fit. Shortwaisted is a tough place to be!

  3. sdBev says:

    Andrea I hope you carried forward this goal, because it’s very true. This is the life you have. This is the body you have. It’s best to be thankful and take care of both the best that you can. You are a lovely person and have made some very flattering garments. I’m not kidding. There were several that were so outstanding I had to respond even though I know these are old posts.

Leave a Reply

