Simplicity 4949

Here are the cigarette trousers.  I’m still not sure how I feel about them.  This particular pair are wadders because I forgot the lessons learned about stretch denim.  After an hour’s wear, they are way too baggy.  If I decide the look is ok for me, I will make another denim pair, as well as other fabrics.  I kinda feel like they look like “mom jeans” not cool, retro jeans.  Now, here’s the good: they fit almost perfectly right out of the envelope.  The only thing I altered was leg length.  Even if I don’t keep the tapered leg, I will use the upper part as the basis of a TNT trouser pattern.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Simplicity 4949

  1. Inky says:

    I think they fit wonderfully! how amazing that they fit right out of the package! would make adorable capri’s with a little vent on the outside edge too.

  2. Heather says:

    They look really cute! Not at all like mom jeans. And how awesome is it that they fit right out of the package?!

  3. Alyssa says:

    I like what Inky said about the capris with a vent…it would make them feel much more chic. You’re so lucky they fit so well!
    I’ve NEVER found retro pants I like, with the exception of wide leg, sailor style and even with those I never have the courage to tuck my shirt in.

Leave a Reply

