Another WIP

I’ve put aside the coat for a bit.  I think I need to read up on tailoring some more.  Here’s what I’m currently working on:

I tried adding a long sleeve to view 3.  I think this is part of my issue with winter vintage outfits.  The kimono/cut-on sleeve doesn’t work for me in a long sleeve.

Then, I tried cutting a separate armscye and sleeve.

At this point, I’m not sure which is best.  The kimono sleeve has more room for movement but I’m not sure I like the look of extra fabric at the armpit. Any thoughts?

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another WIP

  1. Heather says:

    That’s an adorable little coat! I think your second picture looks more flattering for your figure. I find kimono sleeves, like in #3, make us busty girls look bustier than we already are. Ugh!

  2. lsaspacey says:

    Hmmm, I actually prefer the kimono sleeve (because of the shoulder line) but I can’t quite figure out why there is so much more fabric at the elbow than in the other sleeve. Did you extend the pattern to make the longer sleeve or did you piece the sleeve together?

  3. andreahg says:

    Heather, the second version is more flattering but a lot less comfortable.
    Isaspacey, the original came in short sleeve only, so I used another kimono sleeve pattern from the original hem to the new 3/4 length hem. The extra folds could be my long sleeve t-shirt pushed up inside but it could be the sleeve. It’s a little snug at the bicep, so I’ll have to make another muslin any way.

  4. Alyssa says:

    I like the separate arm anyways, kimono sleeves drive me nuts!

  5. Heather says:

    Well, poo! That figures! I wonder if a really drapey fabric would work better with the kimono sleeve? I look forward to seeing what you come up with ’cause I do really like this pattern!

    • andreahg says:

      Heather, I plan on using some of my fabric.com Vera Wang sale fabric. It’s quite stiff, but it might wash up soft. Its a grey and black houndstooth. If it doesn’t wash up soft, I’ll go with the armscye and sleeve instead of the kimono.

Leave a Reply

