What I’m working on this week

This is what I feel is an example of “new vintage”.  It’s a modern pattern that has a retro feel to it.  This might be an option for a sewer who isn’t comfortable with vintage patterns.  The views with the scoop neck don’t really look vintage and the view with pockets doesn’t either, but the collar sure does.  I’ve become a bit obsessed with this kind of collar lately.  I love it, but I think it might be a bit over the top.  This is just the muslin, as I just can’t wear that color red.  I’m going to take a couple days to think about the collar before cutting into my fashion fabric.  The pattern is New Look 6909.

I also want to show off this pattern.  I have wanted to make some vintage styled jeans for quite a while but have been hesitant to grade up trouser patterns.  I managed to find one in my size. I am concerned that they will look like “mom jeans” but I hope with the right top they will just look vintage,

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I’m working on this week

  1. Heather says:

    I love that neckline too! I don’t think I can pull it off though. I tend to look better in lower cut necklines. I look forward to seeing how the jeans come out! Hopefully not “mom jeans”.

  2. Shannon says:

    Oooo! I just finished a muslin of that New Look dress and I LOVE it! I, too, thought it had a retro vibe- especially the collar. I was worried that the collar would be too much for me, but I ended up liking it quite a bit- that collar makes the dress. (I made the view in the photo, but substituted the 3/4 length sleeves.) I need to make a run to my local fabric store to get a pinstripe fabric, but I hope to have this dress done very soon. Good luck with your version- I can’t wait to see it!

Leave a Reply

