KwikSew 3494

This post is mainly about the skirt because I think I’ve talked about the top before.  I know I made it at the end of last spring but haven’t worn it because I had nothing that went with it.  Now I have the right skirt!  This skirt seems to be the Holy Grail of skirts, at least for me.  On The Fedora Lounge, there have been discussions about age, skirts, and winter wardrobes.  The conclusion is that women need to move toward a slimmer skirt as we age so we don’t look like “mutton dressed as lamb”.  I’m not sure I agree with this, but I have mentioned that I think a full skirted dress tends to look frumpy when you add a long sleeve.  So, my quandry was this: how do I maintain an elegant, age-appropriate vintage look when I don’t really live a suit/wiggle dress lifestyle?  Living in wool pencil skirts and suits all winter is easy to do when  you work in an office or shop but not so practicle if your home is your workplace.  It’s not very easy to sit on the floor to play with small children or scrub bathtubs in a pencil skirt.  This skirt might be just the thing for a glamorous stay-at-home mom.  It reminds of the mullet: business in front, party in the back.  This skirt is a pencil skirt in front, flared skirt in back.  I was even able to walk the dogs in comfortable, normal strides.  I think this may be my “it” skirt for the winter.  Now, I just need to find/make some vintage or vintage influenced tops.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to KwikSew 3494

  1. Michelle Jadaa says:

    Oh that is a lovely shapely outfit! very flattering.

  2. Janel says:

    I LOVE that! It goes great with the skirt.

    I know what you mean. The younger girls at S&S make nice, fuller skirts that I like, but I know I would look awful in them. Wish I had the answer.

  3. Alyssa says:

    Oh, I love the back…I couldn’t figure out what you meant by flared until I saw it 😀 and your top is fantastic as well.
    And the skirt thing isn’t necessarily true…I think a more simple skirt is also fitting for girls who are a bit more Joan-figured (aka moi). However, the most flattering I’ve found is a de-volumized circle skirt (almost A-line but not quite). It has the flattery of not being all flat-fronted (which is where I run into trouble) and is comfortable without going Grease.

  4. Heather says:

    Oooo…I love the skirt! The way my tummy and hips are shaped I do not look good in full skirts and I bet this would probably work for me. I seriously need some fall/winter clothing and like to dress nicely, too. I try to stay away from sweats and the like. The top is cute too. The print is really fun.

  5. sdBev says:

    Oh definitely a keeper! I prefer my skirts a little longer (i’m retired and stay at home too) but like you I have a hard time avoiding the “polygamy ranch” look. I find that dark tights helps in the winter – makes a slimmer leg and looks a little se#y. But summertime I need cooling and that means bare legs.

Leave a Reply

