McCall’s 3988

Ah, back to vintage sewing.  I think now that we’ve settled into the back-to-school routine, I should be able to spend more time on complicated projects.  McCall’s 3988 is one of my favorite patterns in my collection.  The button band was quite complicated, so I ended up leaving it off.  Other than that, it’s a very straight forward sew.  I do plan on sewing it again.  Next, I want to try the slim skirted version, then I will use a circle skirt instead of the dirndle skirt.  I don’t need any extra fabric on my waist or hips!  As an aside, this spring, I stopped dyeing my hair.  This is the first picture that seems to show more gray than dyed hair.  I’m really happy to see the progress.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to McCall’s 3988

  1. June says:

    I love this dress, it looks great on you! I have been meaning to make a dress from a vintage pattern I have but the thought of grading and fitting terrifies me!

  2. I have been reading here for a while,just thought I would pop in and say hello, and let you know how much I enjoy your work. I love the vintage dresses you make, Someday I will get the nerve to try a 50’s style, my favorite.
    BTW, I too stopped dyeing my hair, last color was in Nov 08, my reasoning was to help simplify my life, and it has. No worries with making an appointment at the salon to cover the roots, also stopped have fake nails done. It has been very freeing.
    A little gray and natural short nails, make my life easier.
    Thanks
    Ellena

  3. andreahg says:

    June, take the plunge! It’s easier than you think.
    Ellena, thank you for the kind words! Letting my gray grow out has been very difficult for me. By profession, I’m a hairstylist. My whole professional life, I’ve been taught that a stylist should always have the latest coloring trend, to better sell her customers. But, I’ve really come to love the new look.

  4. Janel says:

    LOVE IT!!! Great job. : )

  5. lsaspacey says:

    I’ve been letting my hair go gray also. It’s at that point now where I kind of wish it would hurry up. Sometimes it just looks dull in photos but when it goes 100% I’m sure I’ll love it. I’ll just have to wear lipstick more often!

  6. June says:

    I am 28 and started going gray a few years ago though the process seems to be speeding up now. I intend to just let it be and age gracefully LOL.

  7. Alyssa says:

    I’m so excited, as I have this pattern as well, and love to see how other people make them up. I quite like how it has come out and can’t wait to see the slim skirted version. I think you should get a nice belt to go with those buttons and really bring it all together.

  8. I’ve been having so much fun checking out your posts! You did a terrific job on this dress – love the fabric you chose 🙂 I’ve started making space in what is supposed to be a sewing room, so maybe I’ll take the plunge soon and try making a vintage pattern. I recently stopped dying my hair – guess I’m trying to embrace my budding grayness – LOL.

Leave a Reply

