New Tops

This week, I’ve been working on tops.  The first is Vogue 8546, which I started last week.  I was really attracted to the interesting keyhole neckline but it turns out to be it’s only flaw.  The corners don’t lie flat against my chest and I think that makes it look homemade.  However, the bodice is a great fit and I plan to try it with a different neckline.  My full review is at http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=43409

The other top is Simplcity 2501.  I thought the waistband and peplum would give a nice vintage-feel, but instead it cuts me off at the middle.  This pattern has separate cutting lines for B,C,D cup, so it eliminates the need for a FBA.  I may try the views without the waistband, since it fits so well otherwise.

Both of these patterns are current releases.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Tops

  1. Alyssa says:

    I actually think that the second one is really flattering and pretty. Of course, I can’t see it 3D and that always makes a big difference.
    When do you find time to sew all these!?

  2. lsaspacey says:

    Perhaps if you interface the keyhole section, you could use a knit fusible interfacing for it. Otherwise, you’re right, it does look great on you.

Leave a Reply

