Hoping for TNT

TNT stands for Tried ‘N True.  Most sewers have a handful of TNT patterns that they go back to time and time again.  I have a good dress pattern, that while a very unique style, fits like a dream and I’ve made a couple this summer.  I have a good shorts pattern that I made a few of this summer.  I have a FABULOUS skirt pattern that I need to make in some winter fabrics.  What I don’t have is a solid, well fitting button-down blouse pattern and a basic knit top pattern.  This week, I’ve been working on the knit top.  I’ve started with Vogue 8546, which is a current release, not vintage.  This pattern has some lovely basics that could be the foundation of a good wardrobe if you’re into modern fashions.  However, the top is killing me!  I basted the muslin and tried it on without the sleeves.  It fit perfectly with just some petite alterations for my short stature.  It needed no FBA.  Then I added the sleeve.  Whoa, Nelly!  That changed the whole look.  The sleeve cap is very narrow, more like what is common on a classic woven blouse.  It also has an elbow dart, which is totally unnecessary in a knit sleeve.   My first change was to cut a new sleeve, using a different pattern.  This helped somewhat, but it still pulls the shoulder seam off the top of the shoulder.  Part of me thinks I may need to start all over with a smaller size for the upperchest/shoulder/neckline area.  Here’s the problem: this pattern comes in 8-14 and 16-22.  I’m already using the 16 for the upperchest area.  I need a larger size for the rest.  I would have to buy another copy of the pattern to get the 14, then merge the 14 with the larger pattern.  It might be worth it.  This top has the potential to become my TNT knit top.  Vogue patterns go on sale next week, so I will put it aside to think about the issues until then.

Top without sleeve

Top with sleeve

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hoping for TNT

  1. Alyssa says:

    I’ve been looking for a TNT blouse pattern as well and still can’t find what I want : / in either a modern or a vintage pattern, or in a store! Basic white blouses in short sleeve just don’t exist.
    I like the top, and hope it isn’t too much of a pain for you in the end. I think it looks better without the sleeves.

  2. Janel says:

    “Then I added the sleeve. Whoa, Nelly! That changed the whole look.”

    I struggle with that ALL THE TIME! That is my number one fitting headache. I can make a bodice muslin, have it fit perfectly, add the skirt and/or sleeves and have all kinds of wonkiness going on. UGH! It’s soo irritating! Any suggestions on how to stop the insanity?

  3. sdBev says:

    Right now I fit either a 14 or 16 depending upon pattern measurements. It’s just perfect so that I have to buy 2 sets of patterns. So I know what your going through. I do have my basic patterns both for knit and woven fabrics. When I sew a new pattern, I cut out the recommended size and then slap my basic pattern (corresponding pieces) right on top. I can then see if the pattern is going to be long enough, have enough ease and how plunging the neckline really is. I know I’m responding to a year umm 1.5 year old post and I hope you have your basics by now. I just wanted to share another way the basic pattern, once fitted, can help.

Leave a Reply

