McCall 5716

This is a current pattern but a good, classic style.  Every gal needs a little black dress in her wardrobe.  Believe it or not, I have made it to this ripe age without one.  I had to do all kinds of alterations to make it fit, but it can now be used as the starting point for other dresses.  My PR review can be found at http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=42467

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to McCall 5716

  1. cindy says:

    What a great classic. You will get years of wear out of this dress. I was afraid to try this style, but you look so great I will give it a try.

  2. Heather says:

    This is really cute Andrea! I love it. I, too, have gotten to my ripe old age without a li’l black dress. I think this style looks really good on you. It’s very flattering!

  3. Roxanne says:

    I have to comment on your “backdrop” for your photos. That deck area looks so inviting and cheerful! The perfect place to have a little evening cocktail party and…

    wear your little black dress!

  4. Mander says:

    I stumbled across your blog through searching “what top to wear with a-line skirt”, which has nothing really to do with your blog, but I’m glad I found it!

    So far this is my favorite. I really like the collar and the overall shape. It helps that we have a very similar figure although I think I’m a little heavier than you.

    Anyway, do you ever re-draft patterns from the final combinations of updates and alterations? I know very little about sewing but every once in a while I see people like you who are making cool updates of vintage patterns, and I always wondered if you made a copy of the final product so that you don’t have to go through all the fiddling and tweaking again to make a new dress from the same pattern.

    • andreahg says:

      What I do is to take apart the muslin and use that to cut the fashion fabrics. Once the muslin is fitted, it becomes my permanent pattern and is more sturdy than pattern paper.

Leave a Reply

