The Dog Days of Summer

Nothing new to report.  About this time every year, I lose my sewing mojo.  This is because I get inspired by all the new fall/winter patterns and fabrics coming into the stores, but know that I can’t wear them for 6-8 weeks.  I have a couple new patterns that should make great additions to my fall wardrobe, once I get started on it.  I’ve made a muslin of the full skirted version of the dress and so far, it looks good.  286662079_tp

I’m still trying to find a good, basic blouse pattern to replace the one that arrived missing pieces.  I think this blouse might work.

242515751_tp

What’s fantastic about these patterns is that they are both in my size, no grading needed!  So, ladies, the larger sizes are out there, you just have to be patient!

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Dog Days of Summer

  1. Cindy says:

    May I ask the pattern name/number for the dress? I am in love with it!

  2. Beth Madron says:

    I am a larger size too. I have been looking for peter pan collar type blouses/patterns for a while now. I have a taffeta black circle skirt and I need someone to make a blouse to go with the skirt. I have 7yrds of black silk shantug fabric set aside for it. I have a 46 inch bust. I also prefer elbow length sleeves. Unfortunately , my sewing is limited to hemming pants.

    Thanks,
    Beth Madron

    • andreahg says:

      If you can hem pants, then you’ve got a good start! There is a learning curve, just like any skill, but it’s not a difficult one to learn. It just takes practice!

Leave a Reply

