New Look 6569

I haven’t done a whole lot of sewing lately, which is why I didn’t post last week.  This week’s garment is New Look 6569.  It’s a current release and I believe a Spring 2009 design.  It is of a cotton stretch poplin.  The pleats were somewhat time consuming, but the end result is a pretty, lightweight wardrobe basic.  Every girl needs a black cotton skirt.

The other project that I have been working is sewing my own bras, which there won’t be picctures of.  I’ve tried to make my own in the past with not very good luck.  Since becoming active on http://www.patternreview.com, I found a great European pattern (http://www.elingeria.de/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=21_59_23&products_id=4676) that has gotten great reviews.  The instructions are in Dutch, so it helps if you have already made a bra before attempting this one.  Fitting the bra pattern is a long process, but once fit is accomplished, sewing them up takes 1-2hrs each.  I’m also in the middle of grading and fitting a 1950’s blouse pattern that I received in a pattern swap with a lovely lady from The Fedora Lounge.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

