Simplicity 4920

This is an early 1960’s Simplicity pattern, which is a good example of the transition from the New Look 1950s styles and the mod styles of the mid-to-late 1960s.  This dress is ends my relationship with linen.  Back when I was involved in historical reenacting, I sewing with linen and wool exclusively.  However, it just doesn’t work for 1950’s, early 60’s fitted garments.  The muslin of this dress was much more fitted and showed off my waist much better.  In linen, it just sorts of sags.  However, linen is ideal in hot, humid D.C. summers.  I love the pleats and the bow and plan on making this in a stiff, woven cotton.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simplicity 4920

  1. Michelle Jadaa says:

    thats a lovely dress!I will look forward to the remake in stiffer fabric!
    I keep meaning to look into sizing up patterns but keep putting it off i guess from fear of screwing it up.Your blog is an inspiration,thanks for sharing:)

  2. Inca says:

    Hi!

    First to give credit where credit is due: I came across your blog via The Haven of Home blog.

    I am absolutely blown away by your sewing. You look so lovely in everything that you sew for yourself; the fit is superb!

    You are the first person to show me that maybe it would be worth my while to try to figure out how to sew for myself and my daughter (adult daughter, actually), that maybe I could get things to actually fit and (hope, hope) even look nice (?). Our fitting issues may be different than yours, but I have no doubt that you could help me start in the right direction. I am totally overwhelmed even by the thought of attempting.

    If you find the time, and have the inclination to extend a helping hand to me, please drop me an email so that we can talk more. And if not, I’m happy that I was able to express my appreciation of your sewing skills.

Leave a Reply

