Butterick 7785

This is what we call a “wearable muslin”.  That means that it’s cheap tester fabric that you don’t mind wearing if it turns out right or tossing if it’s a wadder.  This dress is also an example of why it’s important to do a muslin.  The pattern is a size 12, 30in bust.  These small patterns take alot of care when being sized up.  I did a muslin of the bodice, tweaked it here and there, then made the dress.  I was really unhappy with this dress and the fact that, even disregarding the lack of cumerbund, it looks nothing like the original.  After a test-wearing yesterday and some pinning, I determined that I need to take 1-2inches off each side seam in order for it to fit like a true 50’s dress.  My numbers were right, how did my grading turn out so off?  I hadn’t measured myself in nearly a month.  While I jump on the scale daily, I don’t often measure myself.  Since my back has healed enough to get back to an easy exercise program, I’ve lost 2 inches off my waist.  That’s not alot in modern clothing, but a big deal in 50’s clothing.  Remember ladies, even if you think you’re exactly the same, measure yourself before the start of each project.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Butterick 7785

  1. cindy says:

    I love this dress. The print is perfect for the pattern and you. I’m glad you figured out what the “problem” was in the fit.

Leave a Reply

