Something different

This outfit shows why I am thinking about changing my blog.  Yes, I love vintage patterns, but not everything I sew is vintage.  It is possible to find stylish, flattering modern patterns that aren’t for teenage girls or make one look pregnant.  The added bonus of working with modern patterns is that it makes it easier to work with the new fabrics that keep hitting the market.  Another reason to keep working with modern patterns is that sometimes you just need to look nice, but not draw attention.  The vintage garments always draw attention and not all of it positive.  The question, dear readers, is this: should I change the blog name and address to allow modern and vintage projects or keep the blog as is, with the occasional modern project?

The top is Butterick 4986 in matte jersey and the skirt is Kwik Sew 3287 in cotton calico

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Something different

  1. Amy says:

    That is just DARLING on you.
    And I think you should keep the name of the blog since it’s called NEW Vintage….that has elements of both new AND old in the title and is therefore perfectly acceptable if you are sewing up both modern and vintage patterns! I think the merging of new and old ideas/design concepts is fabulous. And I can’t wait to see what you do next! 🙂

  2. Kyle Kirkby says:

    Ditto, above comment! i love to see what you sew up, whether new or vintage. The name does fit already. What I want to know is WHO would give negative attention to vintage?

  3. Inky says:

    I like the name of your blog for the same reasons Amy said – it’s “new” vintage. I totally get not dressing vintage all the time, i sure don’t, though usually something is old or at least retro-inspired. today i wore a new western shirt, old navy jeans and 70’s platforms. but I had on “vintage” jewelry. i hate being pigeonholed into one thing, though I do love the 40’s best – but you knew that already 😉

  4. Jenni says:

    Leave it as is! What is ‘New’ today will one day be ‘Vintage’ anyway!

  5. Roxanne says:

    I’ll add my voice to the “keep it as it is” sentiment.

    I’ll also echo the question of what negative attention has been directed your way when wearing vintage?

  6. Heather says:

    Yep, I’d say keep the name and just start adding all the other modern goodies you’re sewing up.

    I think this outfit looks darling on you! I love those twist tops but haven’t made one up yet. They’re so cute!

  7. Ann Sterling says:

    Hi, I love to see what you sew regardless of what era it is. I only found your blog because of the “vintage”. Great job. This outfit looks great!

  8. Jenni says:

    Hi – just letting you know that I have nominated you for the “One Lovely Blog Award”….enjoy your week

  9. Janel says:

    I’m another one who thinks the title is just fine!

    Great outfit!

  10. sdBev says:

    This is darling on you. Why do you feel frumpy in skirts and blouses? They look terrific!

Leave a Reply

