Hollywood 1059

Hollywood 1059 took a lot of work.  To start with, it’s sized for a 34bust.  This was another big grade up.  Then, because of the front center pleats. doing a FBA and low bust adjustment were difficult.  I had lots of difficulty applying the piping to the neckline because of the front center point.  I’m still not quite sure about this dress.  While I really like wartime hair and shoes, I just don’t think it suits me as well as the 50s styles.  The 50’s styles suit me whether I’m slim or with some extra weight.  This goes back to my post about picking styles.  Your body type doesn’t change much with weight, but when you have some extra weight, working WITH your type is even more important.  This dress goes against my type.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hollywood 1059

  1. Angela says:

    I really like this style on you. I think the shirring in the bust is very flattering and the waistline is very slimming. I think the sleeves need a little detail, though. Maybe a little red embellishing or a little longer or something. Overall I think it’s GREAT! I love your style!

  2. You have such a *great* hourglass shape….and this dress is pretty stylin’. I think with some minor tweaking you could really rock this one.
    Does it feel wonky on you because the midriff band is not tight enough? Is it a little baggy and long in that area, or is the photo messing with me? 🙂 The illustration on the pattern envelop shows a pretty snug fit. I too have an hourglass shape and have to make sure with these styles that the waist is pretty fitted.
    I think replacing the pleated skirt with a 4-gored one would make a world of difference (since they drop straight from the waist instead of adding bulk).
    It’s just so darling…and the shirring and buttons and the color are just fabulous on you. There’s gotta be a way! 🙂 Keep the bodice, shorten and tighten the midriff and put one of those awesome circle skirts on it!

Leave a Reply

