Simplicity 1373

I fell in love with the pattern the minute I laid eyes on it.  The scooped waist seam is an interesting detail I hadn’t seen before.  The option of long sleeves is appealing, as I don’t have many long sleeved patterns.  The princess seamed bodice is something I hadn’t tried on vintage patterns before. So many new details to try!

The first step was to grade up.  The original pattern is sized to fit a 32 bust, 26 waist and 35 hip.  After my first muslin was completed, it should that the waist needed to be lowered an inch.  Those were the only alterations needed to the bodice.  To the skirt, I took a 1in fold in length, then cut 4in off the finished hem length.  I’m not quite as happy with the finished product as I was with the bodice before the skirt went on.  The heavy skirt pulls the bodice down, so it doesn’t quite fit as nicely as without the skirt, but it’s still a pretty dress.

Here is a close-up of the fabric.  I LOVE this fabric!

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Simplicity 1373

  1. Vanessa says:

    What a cute dress! It looks adorable on you too!

  2. Bree says:

    I love it, super cute! You look great!

  3. Shannon says:

    What a fabulous dress! I love the fabric- it has a very “Jetsons” vibe to it!

  4. Jessics says:

    That is one seriously fantastic dress! I really adore the fabric too, it reminds me of an awesome vintage starburst clock or mirror.

    Have an awesome weekend!
    Jessica

  5. Inky says:

    that fabric is even better up close! I love the dress and it looks terrific on you!

  6. Jenni says:

    Love the fabric! The dress is super cute, and so too is your haircut…..

Leave a Reply

