SWAP 2009 Progress

My SWAP is not going as planned. I’ve already had to trash 2 tops and might be trashing another. The first top I trashed was the blue knit. The tester garment has become my favorite top, but it did not look nearly as flattering in a solid color. In the solid, the ruching just called attention to my belly. Not a good look. The second top I trashed was a bonus top. After cutting out my circle skirt and blouse, I had enough left over for a second blouse. I wasn’t too concerned about testing, since by the measurements it should have fit and the reviewers at patternreview.com gave it glowing reviews. It fit perfectly when I tried it on without the sleeves. However, the sleeves and armhole were really funky. I could not raise my arms above waist level. Now, we’re up to today. My blue linen washed up much softer than I was expecting. I was hoping it would be ok, but it’s turning out to be a problem. Even though I used my tester as my pattern, it doesn’t look anything like the tester. It drapes completely different. It looks pretty bad. I really should have used a stiff cotton. I’ll put it aside for a while and take another look at it in a few days.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in SWAP 2009. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SWAP 2009 Progress

  1. Janel says:

    It is soo frustrating when that happens! I deal with similar when trying to fit shoulders. Here’s to better success later!

  2. Amber says:

    Oh, I’m so sorry! I do hope things improve.

  3. Roxanne says:

    Thank you for being candid about the successes and frustrations of your projects! It helps to know that sometimes they work and sometimes they don’t–even for seasoned sewers!

    Roxanne

  4. Cyndi says:

    Oh, I am so inspired so see someone with a figure so similar to mine taking on the very challenges I fear. I have a mammoth collection of vintage patterns which I’m dying to try but for fear of attempting to grade them up.

    I’ve been sewing for years but have never attempted to re-grade a pattern to fit. I’m overwhelmed by my 40G ladies.

    You have given me courage, thank you so much. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your creations. You look positively beautiful in the vintage dresses you’ve made, thank you for sharing.

    Cyndi

    • andreahg says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I am a similar size and find that 1950’s pattern fit better than modern ones. They are drafted for a greater difference between the bust and waist. I generally do not have to do that full bust adjustment that is always needed with modern patterns. Keep in mind, this is for 1950’s patterns only. 1930’s and 40’s patterns are not drafted this way and do need a FBA.

      • Cyndi says:

        Thanks for that tip. I think I’ll sort some of my vintage patterns out to pick one or two 50’s fit & flare style to try.

Leave a Reply

