Simplicity 1127

This is the first of two test garments that I need to do this week.  I’m quite happy with the fit, right out of the envelope, aside from the basic grading up to fit.  The only thing I will change on the finished top is to add an inch in length to both the hem and sleeve.  I will be using this pattern for my print top.

What I like most about this top is that it has the yoke and gathering that is in style in modern tops, but with the closer fit around the waist of the 50’s.   Modern gathered tops tend to make me look pregnant, so this pattern was a great find!

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simplicity 1127

  1. Jenni says:

    I LOVE that pattern! I hear you! The looser tops do nothing for my middle bits either. Well done.

  2. angie.a says:

    Andrea that is gorgeous! I’m definitely going to keep my eye out for this vintage pattern, or at least think about transferring some of the details to a modern one.

Leave a Reply

