SWAP change of direction

So, after 2 weeks of testing garments, I think I’ve come to a conclusion.  I need to let go of the need to be “historically accurate”.  Back when I was involved in historical reenactment, this was a HUGE deal for me.  It has remained with me as I started to get into vintage clothing.  However, after seeing all the various garments on me, I’ve come to see that the best garments for my figure don’t always come from the same era.  Part of the beauty of choosing vintage styled garments is that I can pick what best suits me.  From what I can see, what seems to suit me best is the 40’s A-line skirt and 50’s fitted blouse.

This picture shows 40’s A-line skirt with a 40’s blouse

Oh, my word!  My chest looks GINORMOUS

However, with a T&T (tried and true) 50’s blouse, the girls don’t look quite so big and you can actually see a waistline.

I think these will be the two garments that form the basis of my complete wardrobe.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in SWAP 2009. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SWAP change of direction

  1. Ashley says:

    I love the second blouse! What pattern did you use?

  2. I happen to think that you are actually being more historically accurate than you think!

    Many women in the early 50’s would have still been wearing some of their wardrobe from the previous decade. After all, I wear items from different decades together all the time.

  3. Courtney says:

    I just wanted to say I wish I had your sewing knowledge. Being a plus-sized girl, I usually find great patterns, but feel like I can’t buy them because I don’t know how to successfully alter them to fit! Keep up the beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

