SWAP 2009 Update

I’ve given up on the idea of a completely vintage SWAP. The reality is that sewing knits is so much faster and less stressful (no zippers or buttons, no facings) that a huge chunk of my SWAP will be jersey knit. I’ve decided to use Simplicity 3688 for my trouser and woven skirt pattern


Simplicity 7635 will be my knit skirt and tee pattern

The biggest problem with trying to do a vintage SWAP is finding a print. I found some lovely, but quite modern cotton woven prints that would do well in a SWAP. For example:

There would be a brown knit tee, blue knit tee, white knit tee, print woven blouse, white woven blouse, blue woven blouse. For bottoms, brown knit skirt, blue knit skirt, brown woven trousers and print woven skirt. It would make a great wardrobe, but by using such a modern print, would I lose the vintage feel? However, after doing the basics, this color palette could be easily added to in more vintage styles, ie: blue gingham peasant top, solid blue or brown skirts, ect. I’m open to thoughts/opinions/suggestions!

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

