How Cool is This?

So, despite my first couple of failed attempts at 30’s fashions, I have bought a couple more. I did some research, evaluated both my figure and 30’s fashion to try to figure out what will work with me. I recently got a copy of Everyday Fashions of the Thirties as Pictured in Sears catalogs. Normally, these books are pretty good, having several pages of fashions on the larger end of the spectrum. However, someone on FL was kind enough to post several pages from a Montgomery Ward catalog of larger women’s fashions. So, here are the 2 patterns I got.

Simplicity 2551

Marian Martin 9381


Here’s the cool part! When I took everything out of the plastic for the Marian Martin pattern, I found this:


The original owner had copied and altered the bodice, using newspaper. I had a ton of fun reading the bits of pieces of history. There are a couple intact recipes, a Society page, some crime reports, very interesting.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How Cool is This?

  1. breakall says:

    Reminds me of when we re-chinked the logs in my great-aunt’s log cabin some years back… Several large pieces of newspaper were still intact when we removed the old chinking, and we enjoyed reading the news from 50 or 75 years back!

  2. Emily says:

    These are stunning patterns, Andrea. I can’t wait to see how they turn out. The first one is my fave, but they are both lovely.

    I love finding bits and pieces in patterns envelopes. In addition to newspaper clippings for pattern alterations, I’ve found fabric swatches from time to time. I’ve never found anything in a pattern from the 30’s, though.

  3. Inky says:

    I am lucky to have a series of sewing books gifted to me by my great-grandmother over the years that had belonged to her, and she always tucked in articles and fashion notes and they were all still in there.

    I love the Marion Martin pattern and can’t wait to see that one on you. I generally stay away from 30’s fashions for the same reasons you have previously avoided them but I do like that pattern very much.

  4. Roxanne says:

    My grandmother sewed ALL of her clothes (and her four girls’ clothes). She never used a pattern. She made her own using newspapers. I would LOVE to have those patterns now, but my aunt threw them all out in 1990 when she died.

    Unfortunately that “patterns out of air” skill didn’t get passed down to me!!

    Looking forward to seeing you in these.

    Can you get them both done by the weekend? (Hee!)

    Roxanne

  5. lauren says:

    How cool! I love it when they have that 🙂

Leave a Reply

