Simplicity 7836: Progress

I worked on this dress all day yesterday, as I had originally planned to wear it to my husband’s birthday party on Saturday.  I started cutting it out at 11am and by 5pm, got this far and tried it on.  My initial impression, it does nothing for me.  It looks better on my mannequin than it does on me, but it still doesn’t look great.  I don’t think I’ll finish it.  Adding the big, puffy sleeves will only make it look even worse on me.  The one positive thing I learned from this is that I can pull of a high neckline.  I had been avoiding them, since all the “style experts” say to avoid them if you have a full bustline.  So much for “experts”!

I think in my next post, I will answer some of the questions I have received in the past year, regarding grading, sources for patterns, picking styles, ect.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Simplicity 7836: Progress

  1. Roxanne says:

    I don’t know the protocol on this. I linked to your blog on my blog–is that okay? I’m not sure if I need to ask permission, but I’d rather err on the polite side!

    Roxanne

  2. Roxanne says:

    I was curious about what you did with your black and white gingham “muslin.” Did you finish it? Did it look better for your figure than the solid?

    Speaking of muslins, what DO you do with your 1st, 2nd, and 3rd fittings? Quilting scraps? Do you finish them and sell them?

    So many questions from a novice seamstress!

    Roxanne

    • andreahg says:

      The whole purpose of a muslin is so that it can be take apart and used as your pattern. No, I did not finish it. I took out all the basting and the pieces went into a large ziplock baggie with the pattern. I do not quilt, so I don’t keep the unsuccessful attempts. No, I do not finish them and sell them. Muslins are usually made with very cheap “mystery” fabrics. I would never sell a garment made with cheap materials.

  3. Roxanne says:

    Thanks for clarifying the muslin question! You use the muslin FOR. THE. PATTERN. It’s like a light has gone on inside my brain!

    I am just beyond beginner level and have always thrown things together and then wondered why they never looked good. I’m very excited about doing things properly and having the potential of my work actually producing something wearable.

    I don’t remember if I already asked, but is it possible for you to do a step-by-step tutorial to show how you make the adjustments on the to the muslin? Do you just snip things here and there or do you measure? Could you do this in your, you know, spare time?

    A whole new world has opened up to me since finding your blog!

    Roxanne

  4. Janel says:

    Andrea, I think it’s the solid fabric that makes it look “less than.” The gingham rocked. 🙂

    Roxanne, there are a lot of great books that teach how to do the adjustments – which will be different for everyone. Head to the sewing section of your library and start there or I have a list of my favorite titles at this post:
    http://janelmessenger.blogspot.com/2007/06/sewing-beginning-to-begin.html

    My favorite book (so far) on basic fitting is Fast Fit by Sandra Betzina. You can Google for more info on how to fit patterns. There is tons of it. It just take practice and trial & error. HTH

  5. Roxanne says:

    Janel–Thanks for the links.

    I’m really stoked about this after looking at all of Andrea’s gorgeous, well-fitted clothes. I just didn’t think it was possible for someone with curves to actually look GREAT!

    Is your “favorite” the best place to start for a beginner, or is one of the titles in your list a better place to start?

    Roxanne

  6. Janel says:

    You’re welcome. 🙂

    If you need help with basic sewing, the books in the link are best. if you’re more interested in getting a proper fit, Betzina’s book is better.

Leave a Reply

