A Finished UFO

This UFO (unfinished object) has been sitting in the UFO pile since last winter.  I didn’t really like the fit, but wasn’t willing to toss it.  I discovered it last week while going through the pile.  With fresh eyes, all it really needed was to be taken in a touch.  It’s a lovely thick, warm flannel version of Simplicity 1577.  I lengthened the sleeves, but I think they could be longer.   This dress is a perfect example of classic 50’s style without a crinoline.  While the big puffy skirt is what we typically think of, I’m coming to understand that it was not worn for everyday wear.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Finished UFO

  1. Inky says:

    Oooh, i love it and it looks so cozy! Now that Thanksgiving is over I can put out my beloved Featherweight on the table again and get back to those things I want to make. Though a flannel dress here on the coast of California would be funny, but maybe a skirt – but I do sleep in flannel sheets ’cause I am always cold…..hmm, must go to fabric store.

    Thanks a bunch for enabling 🙂

  2. andreahg says:

    Today is VERY cold and this dress has kept me nice and toasty warm! Always happy to enable!

  3. Janel says:

    Love it! Great dress. Love the pearls too! lol

    Don’t you love it when you can salvage a project like that? I was feeling that way about the orange polka dotted dress I made for my birthday last month. I dumped it for awhile then ripped it apart and now need to sew the shoulders. Next week maybe? Should fit this time.

    I always love your projects.

  4. emme says:

    Oh my! I *love* it!

    The pattern is so lovely…I wish that I could find a copy! 🙂

    ~Emily

  5. Kath says:

    Wow, that dress is georgeous on you! That pattern was made for you.
    Kath

Leave a Reply

