Butterick 6946

I’ve made this before, in lightweight summer fabrics.  This is one of my favorite patterns!  After having several bombs in a row, I thought it would be best to use a tried and true pattern.  The fabric is a cotton lycra blend that has been in my stash for several years. Yay for stash busting!  I have enough leftover to make a self belt, which I think would work better than the black belt.

Here’s a close-up of the fabric.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Butterick 6946

  1. Janel says:

    LOVE IT! It looks terrific.

  2. Viv says:

    This looks amazing on you! The brightness of your hair and your beautiful complexion are aglow with the color/texture of fabric! This may be my fave … 😀

  3. Elle says:

    I’m so impressed with this dress and I’m so happy to have stumbled across your blog – you sure are an inspiration!

    Elle

  4. superkawaiimama says:

    Okay, you look seriously AMAZING! Wow I can’t tell you how wonderful this look is, and you look pleased as punch as you should be!

  5. Roxanne says:

    I think the black belt is fabulous. It really emphasizes your hourglass shape and looks so “together” with it’s patent leather look.

    That color is terrific on you as well.

    Roxanne

  6. Roxanne says:

    Sorry to post again. I did a search for this pattern and Butterick used the number TWO more times for different patterns! I did not, however, find a copy of this particular pattern. It looks so great on you and you praised it so highly that I want one, too!

    Any ideas how to get patterns if they don’t exist anymore? Is there a source you could share? I checked Ebay, but nothing.

    • andreahg says:

      I buy all my patterns on eBay. There are a several online stores that sell patterns, but are generally much more expensive. I have seen several copies of this pattern on eBay and other stores since I bought. Just keep looking.

  7. June says:

    I love it! It looks great on you. I love vintage dresses but have yet to venture out into vintage sewing. Are you wearing a crinoline? I am in love with this dress on you!

  8. Dottie says:

    I think this pattern is just adorable. Does anyone out there know where I can find it……wanting to buy this pattern. By the way nice job on your dress, looks nice on you. thanks for any help with this, Dottie

Leave a Reply

