Another McCalls 9158

My first version of McCalls 9158 was the navy with white polka dots, https://newvintage.wordpress.com/2008/07/06/mccalls-9158-complete/.  This time, I’m making the 3/4 length sleeve in a wool blend that has been sitting in my fabric stash for at least 6 years, possibly more.  The navy version was a little snug, so I added a bit more room to this version.  I think I may have added too much.  It looks quite big through the waist.  I won’t know for sure until I put the zipper in.  Because it’s a wool blend, I’ve lined the bodice and plan to line the sleeves.  While this dress will be warm, I don’t plan on buying any more wool.  It’s making my hands red just handling it for sewing.  I hope I’ll be able to wear it without discomfort.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another McCalls 9158

  1. Janel says:

    I love the lines of that dress. Looks great! 🙂

  2. donna says:

    I love ur clothes. I also love to use vintage patterns. I have quite a few from the fifties, as this is my favorite time period. I have a whole slew from the 30’s that were my husband’s grandmother’s from college in that time period. I am not thin enough to really wear the 30’s fashions tho, they are very streamline.
    U have inspired me to get cracking on my fall/winter wardrobe. I need some good full dresses skirts and some pencil skirts in wool!

Leave a Reply

