Two new things to share

I was quite bust last week, but my camera battery died, so this post has two items.  I finished a third, a flannel nightgown from a 50’s pattern, but it came out HUGE!  It was my first time grading a pattern down and I was not successful.

The first item is the completed dress from McCall’s 6566.  This had such potential.  Based on the measurments of the pattern pieces, I graded up 1.75in on the front and back pieces.  Once I tried the bodice on, I realized that I didn’t need to add anything.  The same thing happened with the waist length.  Based on measuring the pieces, I added 2in to the bodice length.  I ended up cutting it off again.  I think that really changed the line of this dress.  I forgot to redraft the side seam at the waist for the higher seam, so it’s not as fitted as it should have been.  Of course, I didn’t realize that until I tried it on for hemming.  I’m not sure I’m happy with this dress, but it’s very warm and the print is cute.

The second item is a blouse from a pattern that is T&T (tried and true).  The original pattern is sleeveless, but it seems to work well with the added 3/4 sleeve.  This blouse looks great with jeans or a pencil skirt, takes 2yrds of fabric and only about 2hrs of work, from cutting to hemming.  I have plans to make a couple more of these.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two new things to share

  1. yummykiwi says:

    They both look nice.
    I bet if you throw a petticoat under that dress it would look fabulous 🙂

    I am learning to sew right now – I love to see what others have made.

  2. yummykiwi says:

    … just saw your comment on Marzipan’s blog.
    The peasant skirt as a cotton petticoat is a GREAT idea! I never would have thought of that. I am also noticing that many of the skirts I get are too narrow for my full petti….

    Guess I need to go get a different peasant skirt – the only one I have is hot pink 🙂 Thanks for sharing..

  3. chinkypin says:

    Wow that collar is adorable! Thank you for all the practical tips and info in your posts, it really helps!

Leave a Reply

