Back in the saddle

As promised, September is finished and I’m back to vintage projects.  I have started on McCall’s 6566.  This is my first 60’s pattern and so far, I like it.  This pattern seems to have all the features of most modern patterns, which is nice.

I’ve already made a ton of mistakes, but money is a bit tight right now, so I’m not giving up on this fabric.  I choose a baby wale cord.  First mistake: forgot to account for the nap.  Because of that, the back skirt pieces have the nap going opposite of the rest of the dress.  At first glance, the print appears to be non-directional, but in fact, all the large apples are pointing the same way.  I hope people won’t be staring at my rear end closely enough to notice.  The second mistake was that in working around the nap, I cut two right fronts and right backs.  I had to trim the waist seam to make it curved on the left side.  I hope it doesn’t affect the drape of the skirt.  The third mistake told me it was time to leave the workroom for the night.  I sewed the pockets to the front, then sewed the skirt front to the bodice front.  I completely forgot that I can construct the garment this way (front bodice to front skirt, back bodice to back skirt, then side seams) when there are in-seam pockets.  I had to rip it out.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back in the saddle

  1. Emily says:

    Hi Andrea!
    Nice to see you working on sewing clothes again. I really love the pattern you’ve chosen. I’ve been watching a lot of re-run episodes of the Dick Van Dyke show lately and have been digging the simplicity of 60’s style. I’m quite short, so I think that era of vintage pattern might work well for me, except for the shift styles (alas!), as I need a fuller skirt to complement my pear shape. Which view are you making? The fabric is super-duper cute, and I can’t wait to see the results. Sounds like you are an expert in sewing-patience and problem solving. I’m sure the outcome will be beautiful!

Leave a Reply

